Fully Furnished

Sofas, beds, mattresses, dining tables, rugs and dressers carry real prices read at the shop that sells them, with the date on every row. Every other category is still sample data.

Rugs for a US home, sized by how many people live there

13 rugs, from $30 to $2,899. Every price here was read at the shop's own product page - 9 of them re-read on 7 September 2026 and the other 4 on 22 August 2026 - and every row carries the date it was read and links to the page it came from, so you can check the figure yourself before you decide anything.

Each row says the date its price was read at the shop, and rows read more than a week ago say so. Shops change prices daily; the price at the till is the real one.

How is a rug sized to your household?

One per living space, sized to the room rather than the household. That is a retail convention rather than a published standard: we searched for one and did not find it, which is not the same as proving none exists (searched 7 September 2026). The full set of rules, and the sums behind the running cost, are on what size fridge, washer and sofa a home needs.

Every rug on this site, cheapest first

All 13 rugs. Pick a household size above and the ones that do not fit drop out of the list; leave it on Every size and you see the lot.

The Fits badge on each row is our own judgment of which households the piece suits, product by product. It will not always match the arithmetic of the rule above — where the two disagree, the piece's own dimensions on the shop's page settle it, not us.

IKEATIPHEDE, 5x7Fits 1, 25 ft 1 in x 7 ft 3 in · 100% cotton, flat-woven · machine washable · IKEA says use an anti-slip underlayIKEA $30
$30Checked at the shop 6 September 2026See it at IKEA ↗
IKEAARENDE, 5x7Fits 1, 25 ft 3 in x 7 ft 7 in · polypropylene, 1.25 in pile · do not wash · anti-slip underlay neededIKEA $70
$70Checked at the shop 6 September 2026See it at IKEA ↗
IKEASTOENSE, 5x7Fits 1, 25 ft 7 in x 7 ft 10 in · polypropylene, 0.5 in pile · do not wash · anti-slip underlay neededIKEA $130
$130Checked at the shop 6 September 2026See it at IKEA ↗
IKEASTOENSE, 8x10Fits 2, 3, 4+7 ft 10 in x 10 ft · polypropylene, 0.5 in pile · do not wash · anti-slip underlay neededIKEA $230
$230Checked at the shop 6 September 2026See it at IKEA ↗
ArticleEva, 8x10Fits 2, 3, 4+8 x 10 ft · wool and lyocell, machine-tufted, 0.4 in pile · spot clean only · pad recommendedArticle $419
$419Checked at the shop 7 September 2026See it at Article ↗
ArticleOuma Washable Wool, 8x10Fits 2, 3, 4+8 x 10 ft · 100% wool, 0.5 in pile · machine washable, but this size needs a commercial washer · pad recommendedArticle $599
$599Checked at the shop 7 September 2026See it at Article ↗
ArticleClyde Wool, 8x10Fits 2, 3, 4+8 x 10 ft · 100% wool, hand-tufted, 0.33 in pile · spot clean only · pad recommendedArticle $699
$699Checked at the shop 7 September 2026See it at Article ↗
Revival RugsShell Washable, 9x12Fits 3, 4+9 ft 2 in x 12 ft 2 in · recycled polyester, medium pile · machine washable · shop says a pad is neededRevival Rugs $779
$779Checked at the shop 7 September 2026See it at Revival Rugs ↗
Crate & BarrelTurin Handwoven, 8x10Fits 2, 3, 4+8 x 10 ft · PET polyester on a cotton base, handwoven flat · spot clean · pad recommendedCrate & Barrel $1,000
$1,000Checked at the shop 7 September 2026See it at Crate & Barrel ↗
Crate & BarrelPrato Wool, 8x10Fits 2, 3, 4+8 x 10 ft · 55% wool, 25% polyester, 20% viscose, handwoven · spot clean · pad recommendedCrate & Barrel $1,499
$1,499Checked at the shop 7 September 2026See it at Crate & Barrel ↗
Revival RugsCena Turkish, 8x10Fits 2, 3, 4+8 ft x 10 ft 9 in · one-of-a-kind Turkish kilim · material and pile not stated · shop says a pad is neededRevival Rugs $2,429
$2,429Checked at the shop 7 September 2026See it at Revival Rugs ↗
Crate & BarrelLisse Hand-Knotted, 8x10Fits 3, 4+8 x 10 ft · 100% wool, hand-knotted, low pile · spot clean · pad recommendedCrate & Barrel $2,599
$2,599Checked at the shop 7 September 2026See it at Crate & Barrel ↗
Room & BoardKayseri, 8x10Fits 3, 4+8 x 10 ft · 100% wool, hand-knotted, 0.25 in pile · made in India · pad recommended on hard floorsRoom & Board $2,899
$2,899Checked at the shop 7 September 2026See it at Room & Board ↗

Before you order a rug, read these on the shop's page

Finished dimensions, material, pile height, whether it is machine washable, whether a rug pad is required, and whether it is rated for outdoor use. The one line under each name above holds those fields as the shop's own page stated them when we read it on 7 September 2026, and nothing the page did not state: where a field was missing the line says so or leaves it out, and where a shop's claim and our rule disagree the line gives both. We have not sat on, slept on or stood on any of these rugs — there are no scores, stars or ratings here and there will not be. What this page holds is the price, the date we read it, the shop's stated facts, and which household sizes we think the piece suits.

Rugs are sold in sizes that do not match rooms. The usual failure is a rug too small for the furniture standing on it: under a sofa, the front legs should sit on the rug, and under a dining table the rug has to run about two feet past the table edge so the chairs stay on it when pushed back. A pad is not decoration either - on a hard floor most flat-woven rugs slide without one.

Look at another category

Or start from the whole list, where picking a household size prices all 21 things a home needs at once.

Run by Kaz, an individual. Last updated 7 September 2026.